Peoples Commissioning Fund Concert

Thursday, January 20, 20227:30pm

Bang on a Can’s annual People’s Commissioning Fund concert returns with a high-octane concert of world premieres and an expanded Bang on a Can All-Stars lineup!

  • Jen Baker, trombone
  • Robert Black, bass
  • David Byrd-Marrow, French horn
  • David Cossin, percussion
  • David Friend, piano
  • Arlen Hlusko, cello
  • Allison Loggins-Hull, flute
  • Mark Stewart, electric guitar
  • Ken Thomson, clarinet

The 2022 PCF concert is part of the Ecstatic Music Festival and will be hosted by WNYC’s John Schaefer.

The concert will also be live streamed on


  • Fred Frith: Which It Is *
  • Tomeka Reid: UNTETHERED*
  • Jeffrey Brooks: Santuario II**
  • Nick Dunston: Fainting is Down, Whooshing is Up**
  • Ken Thomson: Performative*
  • Soo Yeon Lyuh: See You on the Other Side** (with Soo Yeon on haegum)
  • Aeryn Santillan: disconnect.**
  • Trevor Weston: Rainbows and Butterflies**

*world premiere

**world premiere arrangement

The world premiere arrangements were originally commissioned and premiered as solo works during the Bang on a Can Online Marathons in 2020-2021, and have been newly arranged for this nine-piece ensemble.

For the in-person event, tickets are $25 or $15 for students.