"Merkin Concert Hall was a mob scene on Thursday night. At five minutes to 8, the line of ticket buyers snaked out the door. Inside the lobby, the crowd ranged from elderly couples to bearded twentysomethings."
- Anne Midgette, The New York Times

The People’s Commissioning Fund is a radical partnership between artists and audiences to commission works from adventurous composers. PCF is simple; we bundle together hundreds of individual contributions of all sizes and select three or more new composers to write pieces for the phenomenal Bang on a Can All-Stars. All members of the Fund are then invited to join us for a pre-performance reception with the artists. The annual PCF concert is recorded live for WNYC-FM’s pioneering show New Sounds.

Since the Fund began in 1997, fans of new music have joined together to commission dozens of new pieces of music, making PCF one of the most anticipated and reliable launching pads for emerging composers in NYC and beyond. PCF commissions have been offered to more than three dozen innovative composers whose works generated press and recognition from presenters and audiences worldwide. The pieces often become part the Bang on a Can All-Stars' permanent repertoire, and these works go on to make debuts across the U.S. and throughout Europe and Asia.

The 2020 commissionees are Amanda Berlind, Alvin Curran, Hildur Guđnadóttir, and Qasim Naqvi. Their new pieces will be premiered on January 28, 2020 as part of Merkin Hall's Ecstatic Music program. More info and tickets

Past commissions have gone to:

Nik Bärtsch, Eve Beglarian, Oscar Bettison, Nick Brooke, Jeffrey Brooks, Jace Clayton, Anna Clyne, Josué Collado, Dan Deacon, Bryce Dessner, Sussan Deyhim, James Fei, Ben Frost, Yoav Gal, Annie Gosfield, Erdem Helvacioglu, John Hollenbeck, Cynthia Hopkins, Jóhann Jóhannsson, Karsh Kale, Carla Kihlstedt, John King, Glenn Kotche, George Lewis, Lukas Ligeti, Nicole Lizée, Annea Lockwood, David Longstreth, Alvin Lucier, Rene Lussier, Keeril Makan, Ingram Marshall, Miya Masaoka, Paula Matthusen, Marc Mellits, Kate Moore, Thurston Moore, Virgil Moorefield, Nico Muhly, Angélica Negrón, Richard Reed Parry, Joshua Penman, Tristan Perich, Dan Plonsey, Ed Ruchalski, Caroline Shaw, Matthew Shipp, Gabriella Smith, Christine Southworth, Lok Yin Tang, Jim Thirwell, Ken Thomson, Anna Thorvaldsdottir, Henry Threadgill, Toby Twining, Felipe Waller, Stefan Weisman, Daniel Wohl, Zhang Shouwang, Trevor Weston and Pamela Z.