Joe Hisaishi’s Music Future Vol. 9, with Bang on a Can, Nico Muhly and Nadia Sirota – Nov 5

Bang on a Can and Joe Hisaishi Company co-present:

Music Future Vol. 9

Saturday Nov. 5 at 7:30pm at Carnegie Hall’s Zankel Hall

The concert features U.S. premieres of music by Joe Hisaishi and NYC composer Nico Muhly, performed by dynamic violist Nadia Sirota and the Bang on a Can Festival Ensemble, comprised of an extraordinary lineup of performers from the New York contemporary music scene, members of the Bang on a Can All-Stars and alumni of the illustrious Bang on a Can Summer Music Festival. The concert comes on the heels of a world premieres exclusive performance in Tokyo.

If you are familiar with the fantastical films of Hayao Miyazaki, then you know the music of Joe Hisaishi. His scores help elevate Miyazaki’s vision to the realm of the sublime in classics like Totoro and Spirited Away. A prolific composer of music outside his venerated film scores, Hisaishi also champions music by contemporary composers through his Music Future series, now in its 9th iteration.

Bang on a Can’s special discount code for half price tickets is: MFD39879


Joe Hisaishi 2 Dances for Large Ensemble – performed by the Bang on a Can Festival Ensemble

Nico Muhly Selections from Drones & Viola and Drones & Piano –   performed by Nadia Sirota, viola, and Nico Muhly, piano/drones

Nico Muhly Roots, Pulses  –  performed by the Bang on a Can Festival Ensemble

Joe Hisaishi  Viola Saga  –  performed by Nadia Sirota, viola, and the Bang on a Can Festival Ensemble

More info and tickets

photo of Joe Hisaishi by Omar Cruz
photo of Nico Muhly by Heidi Solander
photo of Nadia Sirota by Zoe Prinds