Bang on a Can All-Stars, credit Peter Serling

It's the Big Bang Benefit! June 9, Honoring Jeremy Geffen of Carnegie Hall


Each year we throw an awesome party, with lots of music and food and drink and friends new and old. In one big night, we try to raise money to cover the hard-to-find funds that keep our doors open. And each year since 2005, we've honored someone with the Bang on a Can "Visionary Award." It's a way to say thank you to the brightest lights in the new music universe. And this year is no exception.

JEREMY GEFFEN is central to the musical imagination of Carnegie Hall, which is central to the musical imagination of the world.

In his years as Director of Artistic Planning, as part of a team of dedicated musical programmers, Jeremy has helped Carnegie Hall redouble its connections to the musical life of the city, including a passionate commitment to music being written right now. The breadth of his vision and the kindness of his spirit have made Jeremy everyone’s friend, not just Bang on a Can’s. Please join us as we recognize Jeremy with the 2015 Bang on a Can Visionary Award!


All-Stars Miami debut - June 6

The Bang on a Can All-Stars make their Miami debut at Miami Light Project with a full day of activities starting with an Orchestra of Original Instruments workshop led by Bang on a Can All-Stars guitarist and instrument inventor Mark Stewart. The program concludes with a blockbuster concert featuring the All-Stars playing music by Bang on a Can co-founders Michael Gordon and Julia Wolfe, Philip Glass and Louis Andriessen, plus performances by Miami-based Nu Deco Ensemble and the Spam All-Stars.


Julia Wolfe: Believing
Michael Gordon: Yo Shakepeare
Louis Andriessen: Workers Union
Philip Glass: Closing

More info here

Bang on a Can Marathon - June 21

On Sunday, June 21, from 12pm to 10pm, Bang on a Can returns to downtown Manhattan for its annual Bang on a Can Marathon, FREE for the public at the Winter Garden at Brookfield Place (230 Vesey Street), co-presented by Arts Brookfield and Lower Manhattan Cultural Council as part of the River To River Festival. This annual incomparable super-mix of boundary-busting music from around the corner and around the world features ten hours of rare performances by some of the most innovative musicians of our time side-by-side with some of today’s most pioneering young artists.

Who else is going to program music of Glenn Branca, Johann Johannsson, Somei Satoh, the Pixies, Cyro Baptista, Julia Wolfe and tons more played by Dither, So Percussion, Bang on a Can All-Stars, Asphalt Orchestra, Grand Band and more, more, more? For free? Informal and come-and-go? All day? With most all the composers present? Along the Hudson River? Among palm trees growing indoors?

Lead support for the 2015 Bang on a Can Marathon is provided by the Howard Gilman Foundation and by ASCAP - protecting, supporting, and fostering the work of composers worldwide.