EXO-TECH is large ensemble collective formed in New York by vocalist and director SOPHIA BROUS and New Zealand pop innovator KIMBRA in 2016. The group features a revolving membership of some of New York and beyond’s most respected music luminaries, including David Byrne, Sean Lennon, Moses Sumney, Caroline Polachek, Bilal, Questlove, Yuka Honda, Dave Harrington, Zeena Parkins and many others.

Exploring the intersections of improvisation and pop song composition, EXO-TECH traverse musical worlds from Talking Heads to Can, to Arthur Lyman, Gang Gang Dance, Brigitte Fontaine and the Art Ensemble of Chicago, as much influenced by modern pop and rnb as by by free jazz, avant garde improvisation, tropicalia and film music.

SOPHIA BROUS, voice // KIMBRA – voice, electronics // TAJA CHEEK – vocals // NELS CLINE -guitar// DARIAN DONOVAN THOMAS – violin, electronics // WILL GRAEFE – guitar //  JEREMY GUSTIN – drums //  YUKA HONDA – synths //  BEN CHAPATEAU-KATZ (keyboards, sax) //  DANNY MEYER – saxophone, electronics //  MAURO REFOSCO – percussion // CLEEK SCHREY – hardinger fiddle, daxophone // DOUG WIESELMAN – bass clarinet // SPENCER ZAHN – bass // ALEX TOTH – trumpet, synth

EXO-TECH’s Artist Page